One of the most iconic and oldest buildings in the City of Lynwood is The Lynwood Pacific Electric Railway Depot, located on the Martin Luther King, Jr. Blvd side of Lynwood City Park.
The first Lynwood station was established in 1905 and was little more than a simple shed adjacent to sugar beet fields on Long Beach Blvd. In 1917, the Lynwood Company constructed a new Depot in the Mission Revival style for the railroad in exchange for other nearby grade and level crossing improvements. The line was discontinued in 1958 and the building was registered with the U.S. National Register of Historic Places on September 25, 1974. Southern Pacific gifted the building to the City of Lynwood and in the 1980s, the Lynwood Depot was moved from its original location to make way for the 105 freeway.
The Lynwood Depot building has been used to host community events, as a temporary home for local non-profits and the former home of the Lynwood Chamber of Commerce. Today, the building houses the Lynwood Union Gallery.
This building is one of the few remaining Pacific Electric passenger depots from that era. It survived the devasting 1933 Long Beach earthquake and Southern California’s penchant for tearing down and/or neglecting old buildings.
The Lynwood Depot is a reminder of the beautiful architecture created more than 100 years ago and we honor this building as the City of Lynwood celebrates its own Centennial year.